Fire Emblem Engage – Changing Classes, Master Seals, And Second Seals Explained

Fire Emblem Engage is the latest in Nintendo’s ongoing series of deep tactical RPGs, and at the heart of that is a rewarding class system. Each of your recruits will come with their own specialization and class, but you can change the classes as you wish throughout the game, and upgrade them. To do this, you’ll need special items, as well as leveling requirements. Here’s how upgrading and optimizing your classes work in Fire Emblem Engage.

As you progress through Fire Emblem Engage, you’ll find two types of items required to manage your classes. Those are Master Seals and Second Seals. These have very different uses, but they’re both important to managing your units’ classes. All classes fall into either Base or Advanced classes. Advanced classes are branches from the Base classes.

You need a javascript enabled browser to watch videos.

Click To Unmute

Want us to remember this setting for all your devices?

Sign up or Sign in now!

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.

This video has an invalid file format.

Sorry, but you can’t access this content!

Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking ‘enter’, you agree to GameSpot’s
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Fire Emblem Engage Review

Every unit comes with a class by default, and some are unique classes like Divine Child (the protagonist Alear) or Lord (the prince Diamont). Once you’ve reached level 10 with a class, you can use a Master Seal to upgrade it to an Advanced class. Usually you’ll be able to choose from two or more Advanced classes that branch from the Base class. The Advanced classes generally have more specialized skills than their Base version, and for the most part, you’ll want to keep a class within its existing core competency.

Oddly, the menu item to manage your class isn’t very intuitive. To find it, go into the main menu, then Inventory, then select a character and go down to “Change Class.” That will open a menu that shows you all of the potential classes, with an Advanced version of your current Base class appearing at the top if you fit the requirements to upgrade.

Once your party member is an Advanced class, you can use a Second Seal to switch to another Advanced class. Usually this is just meant to change up your strategy, but the Second Seal actually has another significant purpose. Once you’ve hit level 20 in a class, you’ve maxed it out and will no longer upgrade it. By using a Second Seal you can essentially reset or “prestige” your Advanced class, setting the counter back to 1 but retaining your stats. That lets you continue to gain levels, essentially infinitely, as long as you keep re-rolling whenever you hit level 20. Certain classes like Thief and Dancer can exceed level 20 as well, but the same rule applies for re-rolling their class to gain levels once you’ve hit the max.

The products discussed here were independently chosen by our editors. GameSpot may get a share of the revenue if you buy anything featured on our site.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.